Home  >  Country Central Africa DRC

Democratic Republic of the Congo


Explore the Democratic Republic of the Congo only if you are a truly intrepid explorer!

Some areas are unsafe for any kind of sightseeing. Kinshasa, the westerly capital city, is one of the safer places to visit.

The many natural wonders include swathes of lush rainforest, active volcanoes, fast-flowing rivers, cascading waterfalls, and no less than five UNESCO biospheres. Clusters of mountain gorillas are a great attraction to visitors.

This vast country in West-Central sub-Saharan Africa has a population of over 71million and is the second-largest and also the most populous officially Francophone country in Africa. To distinguish it from the neighbouring Republic of the Congo to the West, it is often referred to as DRC or Congo-Kinshasa.

DRC borders the Central African Republic and South Sudan to the North; Uganda, Rwanda and Burundi to the East; Zambia and Angola to the South and the Atlantic Ocean to the West. It is separated from Tanzania by Lake Tanganyika in the East. DRC has access to the ocean through a 40-km stretch of Atlantic coastline and the 9-km wide mouth of the Congo River which flows into the Gulf of Guinea.

The chequered, turbulent past of the DRC has seen country name change from the Congo Free State, Belgian Congo, Congo-Léopoldville to Zaire. Long and bitter armed conflicts, political strife and corruption have all left their mark on this magnificent African country.

Established as a Belgian colony in 1908, the then-Republic of the Congo gained independence in 1960. Rebel leader Kabila named himself President and renamed the country in 1997 as the Democratic Republic of the Congo.

Bonobo ape reserve at Lukaya Chuttes just on the southern outskirts of Kinsasha



cg large locator



Congo at Matadi

congo river